Home

jd
Gift of love that warms my soul
And fills my heart to overflowing
Dare to remember a better time
A smile so deeply etched
And joy imbued forever

Oh precious child I’ll hold you safe
And slay the scary dragons
This pride I feel and bliss so real
Is sometime overwhelming
A laugh and tussle or just a touch
Enlightens life’s true meaning

But alas, oh dreaded Azreal
You’ve come too soon for this enchanting child
My lack of skill too clear I feel so useless here
But to hold you close and still your fears
Or ease the pain a little

The battle lost I writhe in agony
The pain so sharp and stinging deep
The flood of tears and crushing void
Of the hateful burden on me this day

Oh Michael, Raphael, and Gabriel
I’m frozen through to my very core
As if upon a Gorgon’s eye I gazed
Stave off this awful dirge
Till steeled against this angry chill
And drink this bitter cup

Oh Charon, you vile and wretched beast
You’ll have no fare to carry there
So sail this night alone
Across the river Styx

The hardest task that ever was
Is mine to take this day
To choose the clothes for you to wear
And the casket in which you lay

Your sisters wails of disbelief
Are hard enough to hear
But your mothers heart in tortured grief
Is more than I can bear

This once strong heart and hands of iron
May fail beneath the strain
So on my knees I fell and begged
For help to ease the pain

And lest I fall headlong today
Into the dark abyss
I gird myself with faith from God
And the love this child gave me

So now this awful task I take
With all my strength and love
I’ll see you off this stygian sphere
And to a better place

Azreal be gentle now with this babe of purest gold
And let him drink from Lethe tonight and suffer never more
Let Michael take this blessed child
On guilded wings arise
And lay him in the loving place
We know as paradise

I saw on Michael’s wings this baby boy ascend
And now I know we’ll meet again
To play and love in paradise forever

Till then you sleep my little champion
But this I have to tell
I love you now as I did then
I long to see your face
So till you see me once again
Just rest in peace my son and know
I Love You,
Daddy

Leave a Reply

